If you give a Jones a passport…

She is going to want to leave the country.

If you let a Jones leave the country…

Upon her return, she is going to want to leave again!


And again and again… Yes it’s happened.  I told ya’ll I’d been bitten by the travel bug and within 3 months of my first international trip, I’ve already come and gone once more.  And with the travel list growing, I’ll be on a jet sooner then I ever expected, I’m sure.

IMG_8755

 

I’ve come to find that international travel, while it can be pricy, it’s that scary or hard, as I always imagined.  There are so many beautiful, amazing, historical, and exciting places out there and I want to see them.  I don’t want to look at the pictures others take, I want to take my own but see each scene though my eyes first.  I understand now how to leave and enjoy the journey, then come back and live my life with all the life changing experiences in my back pocket.

Growing up I want’s going to London or Paris for Spring break.  I didn’t spend summer on a beach in Mexico or the Caribbean.  I didn’t study a culture that is currently in existence (ancient Rome and Greece are buried somewhere among modern day cities) that one can visit for a semester.  I mean, I hardly traveled by air plane until I moved to New York and couldn’t always be road tripping home.  Some may say I missed out, but I always had my passport… I just needed the right people at the right time to actually pick a place, pack a bag, and go!


Traveling as a young adult is actually pretty great.

I get to pick where I’m going and what I’m doing when I get there.

As I’m paying for the travel, I’m planning wisely and then thoroughly enjoying it all, cause I know I worked very hard to be where I am. IMG_0316

Other then my kitten, I don’t have much to worry about that I’m leaving behind.  I am not always worried or checking in on the family.  There isn’t someone fussing about and waiting for me to come home to cook, clean, or do anything.

As we know, I’m a planner, which means I can give my job plenty of notice and then work very hard to set the studio up for success as well as rack up my little vacation hours.  This way, as soon as wheels are up, I can relax while I’m away.

All of this because you gave a Jones a passport.  And that passport, after sitting in a lock box for years is finally getting a little rough around the edges and filled with stamps.

That’s it.  Just a quick little thoughtful post.  Nothing to fancy, nothing to long.

Where are you headed with your passport?

Always,

C

Leave a Reply

