Tips to Travel:: I’m a Planner

It’s been posted there and there, but let’s make it Blog official— I’m taking my first ever international travel adventure and heading to Bali Indonesia in 2 months!

The idea sort of came up as a whim but actually getting there has required research and planning.  I thought I would share a series of posts as we get closer to take off and let the adventure begin!

Planning::

It has been brought to my attention that I maybe overanalyze and plan a little too much… and that I need to fly by the seat of my pants a little more.  So that’s something I am working on, but at the end of the day I’m still a planner and I like to have an outline for what is coming up- at work, with friends, in relationships.  I’m no different with travel.

In this case, I want to know where I’m going, how I’m getting there, where I’m staying… and then I can cut loose and see what there is to do and what I’m in the mood for.

So it begins and what comes first?  Deciding where I was going, when I was going there, and how I was getting there (and back again).  I want to have time on my hands to explore and go where the wind takes me once I reach my final destination.  But the getting there and back?  I’d like to have that part planning out to the minute.  So what if it (maybe) takes the fun out of the adventure for a second?  Getting lost, denied a visa, or scammed sounds a lot less fun in the long run then use having ducks is a row to begin with.

First was deciding when the opportune moment would be to take an extended vacation.  Finding the balance between scheduled races, work commitments, and holidays wan’t exactly a slice of cake.  Deciding where to compromise and where I could cut back was important, while giving plenty of time to save money and give notice at work.

Next was planning where exactly I was headed.  Bali, Indonesia.  OK, care to narrow that down at all?  While Bali isn’t a huge island, there are several different major cities and regions, each with something different to offer.  Beaches and night clubs? or craft markets and temples?  Hiking volcanoes or snorkeling?  Where do I want to call home base?

Then there is looking and booking flights, airport transport, and housing.  Investigating  i Visas and required vaccines.  Is my passport updates?!  (No worries, yes it is mom).  I don’t mind flying by the seat of my pants, but I’ll do that when I’m happily settled with 2 feet on the ground.  Having an established plan for transport and housing is only going to make the actual trip a lot more enjoyable.  What is a vis anyway?  And let’s talk about exchange rates, power adaptors, insurance… the list goes on.

It’s not like I woke up knowing the answers to these questions… I had to started studying, researching, and asking around before any bags were packed.

Ok, Research will be coming up shortly.  See!  There is so much to look into before actually leaving.  Each country, each airline, each living situation will have different requirements, different prices, and different modes of operation,  and it’s important to know what you are getting into before you get there.

How do you plan before you travel?  Do you plan?

Always,

C

Leave a Reply

