Infatuated: Blue Skies, Wide Open Spaces, and Me

I really think this title says it all. So let this be a photo entry accompanied by some words, instead of the other way around.

I’m not sure when my love and interest in bright blue skies first came about, but I know I first noticed this infatuation on top of Elk Mt. in Oklahoma.

IMG_0030.PNG

 

 

 

You could see for miles in all directions. It was breathtakingly beautiful, the water reflecting the intense blue of the sky, and that sky meeting the land far off in the distance. Up there was the first time I realized I would have been very happy to sit for hours just bring under that sky, looking at it’s beauty and power… Feeling small and humbled, but also beautiful.

 

 

 

 

 


For years I took for granted the majesty and beauty of Southern Illinois, where I used to spend my summers and now where I run to in an attempt to escape New York City and regain… Or maintain… Some of my sanity. There, un-impeded by sky scrapers and city lights, you can see sky, trees, water.

IMG_0906.JPG

 


I have come to realize that I could happily be under and look at a blue sky, really anywhere, and by so happy. Now I don’t just mean any blue, I mean that piercing, intense, clear, powerful blue sky that says “yes, look up from your phones, get up form your office chairs, and come outside. Look up at me and bask there, totally unchained from all other daily problems. Just be”.

IMG_0418.JPG

 

 

I’m not saying you can’t see a phenomenal sky in New York City, because you can in fact.
IMG_0750.JPG

IMG_1073.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You just have to be in the right place, but even then there is usually a building standing in the open blue.

 

 

 

 

And all to often, you may only get a small glimpse as you move through the dark underground of the city.

 

 

 

 

 


I believe there is something very deeply rooted in us, that draws us to nature in some form. For me, the blue sky… Being able to watch it go on and on. Yes it can make me feel small and vulnerable, but it also gives me a view of endless possibilities with plenty of space and time to try them all. When I’m distracted by a perfect, uninterrupted blue sky, I never feel lonely or lost. I’m reminded there’s so much more out there.

Ever had a dream where you fly? Well, I can tell you- it’s the best way to see the sky!!

IMG_0958.JPG

For more fun pictures, check out the  Instagram for this Blog!  @runlivelove_blog

Always,

C

One thought on “Infatuated: Blue Skies, Wide Open Spaces, and Me

Leave a comment