Run One and Done…?

So why start a whole blog because you like to run?  If you’ve run one 5k haven’t you run them all?  And who wants to hear all about the huffing and puffing of training for a marathon?

Well, I’m that crazy person who loves to hear different race day stories and crazy training ideas.  Every race I’ve ever run has been so different and (I can only hope) they continue to be.  If you have a story, you should share it and bring others on your journey.  On the trail or during lunchtime conversation, you may feel like you are the only one traveling your path, but as soon as you share your plans, you open the door for so many others to share theirs and support you on your way.

 

IMG_2690

First official timed race in New York- NYE Midnight Run 2015

 

 

Being real, I would have to say that I’ve been finishing 5k’s for a long as I can remember, and usually cursing every step.  It wasn’t the most “fun” thing I would have on my summer calendar and I didn’t know what I was doing.  In fact, running felt like work and I had no interest in participating.  I had no desire to be faster or finish sooner.  I had no desire to train and invest in shoes or gear… I didn’t even know you could have shoes that helped your feet stride correctly!  But I did enjoy the friends and community feeling,  I liked being done and saying I did think thing.  I finished something and I have the shirt to show for it… so I kept it on the back burner and did the occasional race.

IMG_3461

Short training run before the MORE Half Marathon, NYC 2015. Training never stops!

Eventually, (more on this in future posts) stress and personal drive drove me to educate myself, invest in more shoes then I know what to do with, and into my first half marathon.  I was hooked.  I had that runners high and wanted to be there always.  To carry myself from point A to point B was the most thrilling thing I’d put myself up to.  I wanted to continue challenging myself.  So, I set a goal- to run a half marathon in all 50 States and to run the 2016 New York City Marathon.

And that’s where this blog come in- stories, tops, plans, ideas, and more… stay tuned!

Always,

C

Leave a Reply

